Clint Sargent has been practicing law with the Meierhenry Law Firm since his graduation from law school in 1998. He has trained as a trial lawyer with Mark V. Meierhenry, former Attorney General of South Dakota and one of the state’s most reputable trial attorneys. With Mr. Meierhenry, Clint has handled several highly publicized cases, including the United States Supreme Court case of Lopez v. Davis, (2001) and the case of Muhs v. Johnson, in which a Sioux Falls jury awarded Sargent and Meierhenry’s client $269 million. Clint and Mark continue to work together on civil cases, specializing in eminent domain litigation and catastrophic injuries.

In addition to his civil work, Clint also maintains an extensive criminal practice with an emphasis on white collar cases. He has been fortunate to work closely with Michael J. Butler, one of South Dakota’s premier criminal defense lawyers. In recent years, Sargent has joined Butler in several high profile criminal cases, including the 30-year old “cold case” of State v. Lykken, which the State dismissed after the defense investigation revealed the State’s star witness was manufacturing fake audio recordings.

Clint has tried 55 jury trials, both civil and criminal cases in state and federal court. He has argued before the South Dakota Supreme Court and the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

Clint has earned an AV rating from Martindale Hubbel and has been selected by his peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® in the specialty of Personal Injury Litigation since 2010. In June 2015, Clint was named South Dakota Trial Lawyer of the Year by the South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association.


B.S.B.A. Accounting with Honors
University of South Dakota, 1994

Juris Doctor
University of South Dakota, 1998


South Dakota
North Dakota
United States District Court, District of South Dakota
United States Court of Appeal for the Eighth Circuit


State Bar of South Dakota
–  Bar Commissioner 2014-present
–  Co-Chair, Tort, Insurance & Trial Law Section 2004-2005
–  Law School Committee 2007-present
South Dakota Trial Lawyers Association
–  President 2009-2010
–  President-Elect 2008-2009
–  Secretary-Treasurer 2007-2008
–  Board of Governors 2000-present
American Association for Justice
–  Board of Governors 2009-present
–  AAJ Ambassador 2004-2010
–  AAJ Press Advisory Board 2003-2006
–  New Lawyers Division Board of Governors 2001-2007
National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers
American Board of Trial Advocates


AAJ Ambassador of the Month – April 2006
USD Law School – Student Bar Association, Volunteer of the Year 2011-2012
Second Circuit Bar Association – Pro Bono Lawyer of the Year 2013
Best Lawyers – Sioux Falls Lawyers of the Year 2013 – Personal Injury Litigation
SDTLA Toast of the Trial Lawyers – 2013 and 2014
SDTLA Trial Lawyer of the Year – 2015


M&L Masonry v. Swift Contractors,Inc., (Minnehaha Co. 1999)
Pullman v. Land O’Lakes, Inc., (U.S. District Court 1999)
Muhs v. Johnson, (Minnehaha Co. 2000)
Beesley v. Keller et al., (Hughes Co. 2000)
United States v. Totaro, (U.S. District Court 2001)
State v. Mulder, (McCook Co. 2002)
City of Sioux Falls v. Missouri River Energy Systems, (Minnehaha Co. 2002)
Hall v. NACOLAH et al., (Minnehaha Co. 2002)
Gadbois v. Koch, (Minnehaha Co. 2002)
State v. Klungseth, (Minnehaha Co. 2002)
Semmens v. Howard, (Minnehaha Co. 2002)
Boxa et al. v. Vaughn et al., (Gregory Co. 2002)
State v. Abbas, (Turner Co. 2003)
State v. Cyre I, (Meade Co. 2003)
Plagmann v. Avera Queen of Peace, (Davison Co. 2003)
State v. Norgaard, (Minnehaha Co. 2004)
Sturm v. Cross et al., (Minnehaha Co. 2004)
Virchow v. Highland Manufacturing, Inc., (Kingsbury Co. 2004)
Oehlke v. Fuchs, (Minnehaha Co. 2004)
United States v. Khaoon, (U.S. District Court 2004)
State v. Cyre II, (Meade Co. 2004)
State v. Belden, (Minnehaha Co. 2005)
State v. Oien, (Lincoln Co. 2006)
State v. Gill, (Union Co. 2006)
Reagle v. Honeycutt, (Todd Co. 2007)
State v. Jacobsen, (Minnehaha Co. 2008)
State v. Metzger, (Lincoln Co. 2008)
State v. Huber, (Hyde Co. 2008)
Reinfeld v. Hutcheson, (Minnehaha Co. 2009)
SD DOT v. Woefel, (Minnehaha Co. 2009)
City of Watertown v. Moriarty, (Codington Co. 2010)
Peterson v. Smellie, (Minnehaha Co. 2010)
United States v. Kelley, (U.S. District Court 2010)
SD DOT v. P&J Enterprises, et al., (Minnehaha Co. 2010)
AAA Collections, Inc., v. Doorneweerd, (Lincoln Co. 2010)
United States v. Ortiz, (U.S. District Court 2010)
State v. Valencia, (Minnehaha Co. 2010)
Reinfeld v. Hutcheson II, (Minnehaha Co. 2010)
State v. Gross, (Beadle Co. 2011)
State v. Huber II , (Hyde Co. 2011)
State v. Halverson, (McCook Co. 2011)
E.L. Thompson Farms, LTD v. Aurora County, (Aurora Co. 2012)
Diamond Mowers, Inc. v. A&B Business, Inc. et al., (Lincoln Co. 2012)
Aanenson v. Handwerk, (Minnehaha Co. 2013)
United States v. Dalsted, (U.S. District Court 2013)
Deffenbaugh v. Steffen, (Minnehaha Co. 2014)
SD DOT v. Miller/Walsh, (Minnehaha Co. 2014)
Easton v. Davis, (Beadle Co. 2014)
State v. McCahren, (Hughes Co. 2014)
ND DOT v. Pennington, (Mountrail Co. 2015)
ND DOT v. Pennington II, (Mountrail Co. 2015)
Handwerk v. Aanenson, (Minnehaha Co. 2015)
ND DOT v. Helling, (McKenzie Co. 2015)
ND DOT v. Stubstad, (Mountrail Co. 2015)
State v. Bertram, (Gregory Co. 2016)


Coach & Sponsor – SEBA Youth Baseball
RD Hurd Second Circuit Bar Association Pro Bono Golf Tournament
–  Committee member 2000-2001
–  Co-Chair 2002-present.
Mentor – Junior Achievement
Board of Directors – Groove, Inc. Youth Drumline


Clint and his wife, Larissa, have three children, Jack, Kate and Gus.